CS@Georgetown Newsletter – Summer 2024

Chair’s Message

Lorem ipsum…

New Faculty Hiring




Student Activities

Georgetown students Annika Lin, Maggie Shen, Reed Uhlik and Sameer Tirumala were awarded the Cloudforce-Microsoft AI Track prize and second place overall prize for their project HoyaHelper in Hoya Hacks 2024, Georgetown University’s annual hackathon competition. Jason Yi was part of a team that won the Best DEI Hack, sponsored by Fidelity, with the project Oyster. More than 270 students attended Hoya Hacks 2024.

Faculty Awards and Honors


Profs. Sasha Golovnev and Benjamin Ujcich received the National Science Foundation’s Faculty Early Career Development Program (CAREER) Awards in March 2024. The five-year CAREER Award “supports early-career faculty who have the potential to serve as academic role models in research and education” and approximately 500 awards are awarded annually, according to the NSF. Prof. Golovnev’s award will help investigate lower bounds for shallow circuits and Prof. Ujcich’s award will help investigate security and trust issues related to the intent-based networking paradigm for future networking architectures.

Faculty Honors

Prof. Matt Blaze, along with Steven M. Bellovin and Susan Landau, received the 2023 USENIX Lifetime Achievement Award presented at the 2023 USENIX Security Symposium for their work at the intersection of Computer Science, Computer Security, Law, and Public Policy.

Best Paper Awards

Prof. Muthu Venkitasubramaniam received the Distinguished Paper Award at the 2023 ACM Conference on Computer and Communication Security (CCS) in November 2023 for “Batchman and Robin: Batched and Non-batched Branching for Interactive ZK” co-authored with Yibin Yang, David Heath, Carmit Hazay, and Vladimir Kolesnikov.

Shuo Liu, Nirupam Gupta and Prof. Nitin Vaidya received the 2023 Best Paper Award at the International Conference on Distributed Computing and Networking (ICDCN) for their paper “Impact of Redundancy on Resilience in Distributed Optimization and Learning.”