Faculty

Matt Blaze

Position: Professor and Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt L.C.H.S. Chair
Email: mab497@georgetown.edu
Interests: Cryptography, computer and network security, and technology policy research

Philip Buffum

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Emailpb925@georgetown.edu
Interests: intelligent virtual agents, game-based learning, CS education

Eric Burger

Position: Research Professor
Emailewb25@georgetown.edu
Interests: cyber security and secure communications, network protocols and architectures, Internet governance

Ray Essick

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Emailray.essick@georgetown.edu
Interests: switched and hybrid systems control, distributed semidefinite programming

Jeremy Fineman

Position: Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor, Wagner Term Chair
Emailjfineman@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: algorithm design and analysis, data structures, parallel algorithms, scheduling, memory-efficient algorithms

Ophir Frieder

Position: Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt, L.C.H.S. Professor in Computer Science and Information Processing 
Emailophir@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: information retrieval, medical informatics, & communication systems

Nazli Goharian

Position: Clinical Professor
Emailnazli@ir.cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: information retrieval and text mining, medical informatics, and social media mining 

Bala Kalyanasundaram

Position: Craves Family Professor
Emailkalyan@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: algorithms: on-line, parallel and/or randomized, concrete complexity, theory of learning, next generation network  and bioinformatics

Mark Maloof

Position: Professor
Emailmaloof@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: machine learning, data mining, online learning, concept drift, applications of machine learning and data mining to computer security

Shin’ichiro Matsuo

Position: Research Professor
Emailsm3377@georgetown.edu
Interests: information security, cryptography, cryptographic protocols, privacy enhancing technology, blockchain, cryptocurrency and crypto-economics

Jami Montgomery

Position: Professor of Practice
Emailjmontgomery@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: GPU computing and visualization

Calvin Newport

Position: Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor 
Emailcnewport@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: distributed algorithms, wireless networks

Kobbi Nissim

Position: Professor, Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt, L.C.H.S. Term Chair in Computer Science
EmailKobbi Nissim
Interests: cryptography, differential privacy, privacy law and policy

Nathan Schneider

Position: Assistant Professor (joint with Linguistics)
Emailnathan.schneider@georgetown.edu
Interests: computational linguistics and natural language processing, including corpus annotation, machine learning, and applications

Micah Sherr

Position: Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professor
Emailmsherr@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: security, privacy, networks

Clay Shields

Position: Professor
Emailclay@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: computer security, network security, digital forensics

Lisa Singh

Position: Professor
Emailsingh@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: data mining, social mining, privacy, visual analytics, data science, databases

Richard Squier

Position: Associate Professor
Emailsquier@georgetown.edu
Interests: parallel computation in bulk media, naturalized theory of computation, computational constraints of human communication

Justin Thaler

Position: Assistant Professor
Emailjustin.thaler@georgetown.edu
Interests: algorithms for massive data sets, verifiable computation, computational learning

Nitin Vaidya

Position: Professor and Department Chair. Robert L. McDevitt, K.S.G., K.C.H.S. and Catherine H. McDevitt L.C.H.S. Chair  
Emailnitin.vaidya@georgetown.edu
Interests: distributed systems, robust machine learning, wireless networks 

Mahe Velauthapillai

Position: Professor. McBride Family Endowed Chair 
Emailmahe@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: learning theory, algorithms, and bioinformatics

Addison Woods

Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
Emailwaw23@georgetown.edu
Interests: database management, knowledge management, data warehousing, software engineering

Grace Hui Yang

Position: Associate Professor
Emailhuiyang@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: information retrieval, deep reinforcement learning, machine learning, ontology, question answering, privacy

Wenchao Zhou

Position: Associate Professor
Emailwzhou@cs.georgetown.edu
Interests: database, networking, distributed systems and provenance